With many states in the country authorizing medical marijuana or legalizing recreational pot, many South Carolina residents may be frustrated at the current laws in the state. Some may decide to risk using cannabis, regardless of the law. However, it is important to understand the potential consequences of possessing marijuana or driving with THC in one’s system in South Carolina.
According to Norml, there are strict laws prohibiting the possession, sale and cultivation of marijuana in South Carolina. While residents may use CBD products as prescribed by a doctor, marijuana itself is illegal – the possession of one ounce or less is a misdemeanor and can result in a $200 fine. A subsequent offense carries a possible jail sentence of one year and a $2,000 fine.
Many people believe that it is harmless to drive after using marijuana. However, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention point out that being high can impair drivers’ judgment, coordination, reaction time, perception and ability to make quick decisions. Additionally, tetrahydrocannabinol, or THC, remains in a person’s system for days or weeks after the last use. This is the component that causes a high. If a driver submits to a chemical test after being pulled over and THC is found in his or her bloodstream, he or she could face DUI charges despite no longer being impaired.
As the marijuana debate continues in states that have not yet legalized the substance, there may be confusion about possessing marijuana, driving after using it or sustaining DUI charges weeks after the last use of pot. For these reasons, experienced representation is often necessary after a criminal charge.